Skip to main content

Psychology Research Guide

FINDING ARTICLES

Getting Started

The SMC Library has a combination of resources to help you with your research, including print materials, eBooks, and online databases. 

Finding Articles

How and where do I find scholarly articles?  The best way to find appropriate articles for your assignments is by searching the library's online databases.  The databases include articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. You can limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly journals within each database.

Select the ARTICLES tab on the homepage then click on the Databases A-Z link to be taken to the databases guide.  You can then search multiple EBSCO or GALE databases by using the search boxes on the main tab, or you can select a single database by clicking on the specific name of the database you want to search.  

Instructions for off campus access are included within the Databases A-Z guide.

The Library provides access to over 80 online research databases.  Using the databases provided by the library will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.  

The following are suggested databases for Criminal Justice.  Visit our Databases A-Z Guide for a full list of databases.

*Off campus access:  to access the Library's online Databases you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username, you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example:  smithjd15).

 

National Institutes of Mental Health

This government source provides a wealth of information on mental illness and disorders.

 

MedlinePlus from the National Institute of Health (NIH)

This website also provides good information on psychological illnesses. It is designed for use by everyday people. It contains reliable and free medical information. Explore the links to find more information on a variety of psychology topics.

 

American Psychological Association's Topics Page

The American Psychological Association is the leading professional association in the field. This webpage provides information on current and popular psychology topics.

 

Social Psychology Network

Provides links to good information on a variety of current psychology topics.  Maintained by faculty at Wesleyan University.

 

National Institute on Drug Abuse

The website provides access to information on drugs and addiction. It is also an official government website that gives information on latest research being conducted in the field of substance abuse.

 

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and alcoholism

This website provides information and research on the impact of alcohol on human health and well being.

 

CDC Mental Health Overview

Gives you basic public information on mental health and conditions.  This website also provides links to statistics and scientific publications on mental health issues.

Interlibrary Loan

Need something that is not available in our library?  Try interlibrary Loan (ILL).

 

Reserves 

1. What are reserves?  Course Reserves are books, articles, and other items placed at the library by a faculty member for class use. They are located at the front desk

2. What kinds of items are on reserve?

  • books from the general collection
  • videos from the general collection
  • textbooks 
  • faculty member’s personal copies of materials
  • photocopies (i.e. book chapters, articles, practice tests)

3. What are the reserves circulation policies?

  • Reserve materials, including videos, must be used in the library.
  • Reserve materials can be checked out for up to 3 hours.
  • Students must have their student ID to borrow reserve materials.
  • Students may borrow only one reserve item at a time. 

4. Can reserve materials be copied or scanned?

Students may copy reserve materials (in accordance with *Copyright Law) at a cost of 10 cents per page. Scanning materials to a USB drive is free.

*Under Title 17 of the United States Code, it is illegal to reproduce, distribute, or publicly display any copyrighted work (or any substantial portion thereof) without the permission of the copyright owner. Exceptions can be made under fair use guidelines, but the patron, not the Library, is responsible for any violations. 

 

Off Campus Access

  • For any electronic resources listed within the Library's Catalog, you'll be prompted to enter your username (last name) and library card number/barcode (# found on the back of student ID).
  • To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15). 
  • Online (distance education) students may request Print books they find in the SMC Library Catalog.  These books will be mailed to the student's address free of charge (return postage will be included). 
  • Online (distance education) students may also use PASCAL Delivers (learn more under the Requesting Materials tab).

 

If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:

Phone:  864-587-4208

Email:  smclibrary@smcsc.edu

 

 

Loading