Skip to main content

Marie Blair Burgess Library @ Spartanburg Methodist College

Library Home

Welcome!

Sunday 6:00 p.m.-Midnight
Monday-Thursday 8:00 a.m.-Midnight
Friday 8:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.
Saturday CLOSED

Call Us:  (864) 587-4208

Email Us:  smclibrary@smcsc.edu 

Find us on Facebook

foxyform
Loading

About Marie Blair Burgess Library

Our Mission:  The Marie Blair Burgess Library exists to support the mission, vision, strategic plan and learning outcomes of Spartanburg Methodist College. Our staff, collection, resources and services exist to support academic excellence, intellectual exploration, social awareness, and character development of the SMC community. To that end, the library endeavors to educate students in knowing how to recognize their information need, and then locate, evaluate, and use information they encounter both effectively and ethically.

The Marie Blair Burgess Learning Resource Center offers a comprehensive collection of resources for students, faculty, and staff to utilize, including print resources, electronic resources, computing resources, and online access to various research tools. 

The library offers a physical collection of approximately 43,000 which includes books in print, journals, magazines, DVDs, etc.  A collection of over 264,000 electronic books (eBooks) complements the print collection.  Students, faculty, and staff may also request materials from other South Carolina academic libraries via PASCAL (Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries). 

Over 80 online research databases are available 24/7 through the library’s website and can be accessed from both on and off campus.  These databases provide access to thousands of full-text articles from various academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.

The library also provides wireless access, 21 computer stations for student use, two printers, and a photocopier.  

Librarians are happy to assist with any questions regarding library resources and services.

 

Renew your books here. You will need your last name and barcode (on the back of your ID).

Students

  • Must have a valid SMC I.D. or photo I.D. to borrow materials.
  • Books - 2 week loan period (no limit)
  • Best Sellers - 3 day loan period (up to 10 at a time)
  • DVDs - 1 day loan period (up to 2 at a time)
  • Checked out materials may be renewed once (unless overdue).
  • Reserves - in library use only unless faculty member gives permission stating otherwise.

Faculty and Staff

  • Books - Month loan period, but can be renewed unlimited amount of times throughout the semester. (no limit)
  • Best Sellers - 3 day loan period (no limit)
  • DVDs - 7 day loan period (no limit)

Alumni:  see library staff

____________________________________________________________________________

Fees:

  • Student printing - up to 200 free prints per semester
  • Student copying - $.10/page for B/W, $.25/page for color
  • Public copying $.10/page for B/W, $.25/page for color
  • Overdue fine $.10/ day
  • Lost/ damaged books - $55.00

 

1. How many books may a student borrow?

The Library does not limit the number of books a student may borrow.  The loan period for books is two weeks, and the late fee for overdue books is ten cents per day per book.

2. Does the Library have movies? 

Yes.  The Library also has several DVD players that students may borrow.  DVD's are due the next day, and students may only check out two DVDs at a time.

3. Can students check out reference books or magazines?

Reference books and magazines may not be checked out, but students may make copies for ten cents per page. 

4. Does the Library have any popular fiction?

Yes, the Library does have a small section of popular fiction, but the overall collection focuses on academic materials.

5. Are cell phones allowed in the Library?

Cell phones are allowed, but all cell phones should be set to silent.  Texting in the Library is fine, but all calls should be made outside of the building.

6. Are students allowed to have food and drink in the Library?

Yes, students may have snacks (not meals) in the Library, but must eat in the lobby area or Pioneer Study Suite.  This policy is subject to change if students do not clean up their trash.

7. Is the Library open during student breaks?

The Library is closed whenever the College is officially closed.  In addition, the staff of the Library often takes vacation time when classes are not in session and the college is not closed, so it is best to call ahead.

8. Does the Library have any study rooms?

The Law Room may be used as a study room and may be reserved (with sufficient notice) in the evening for study groups.  Please note that two people do not count as a study group and that the Library reserves the right to use the room for library purposes even if the room has been reserved.  The Pioneer Study Suite is available on a first come, first serve basis as well.

9. Are there computers in the Library?

Yes, the Library has computers for student use.  Students are free to use Facebook and YouTube, but they will be asked to move if another student needs the computer for research purposes.  Headphones are required for listening to music or watching videos.

10. What if research leads the student to items at other libraries?

If the Library does not have a book a student needs, the student can arrange to borrow the book from another library using PASCAL (Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries).  Librarians and staff are happy to answer any questions about PASCAL.

11. Can students use the Library’s e-books from home?

Yes, to gain remote access to e-books found in the Library’s catalog, you will need to use your last name and student barcode number.  Your barcode number should be on the back of your ID, but if you cannot find it, or if the barcode does not work, let someone in the Library know.

12. What is the Library of Congress classification?

The Library of Congress subject heading system of classification is a system used for categorizing books by subject.  Details of the system can be found by visiting “Library of Congress Classification Outline”  (courtesy of the Library of Congress).

Information on finding books on the shelves using the system can be found by visiting “From the Online Catalog to the Shelf” (courtesy of the University System of Georgia).

Library Rules & Policies

NOTE: All rules are subject to change, and new rules may be added as needed.

  • No tobacco use of any kind is permitted on the SMC campus.
  • Food is allowed ONLY in the lobby (in front of the security gate) and in the Pioneer Study Suite.  Please be respectful and clean up your trash.
  • Please make sure cell phones are set to silent while in the library. (Texting is fine, but you should make/take calls outside of the building).
  • Please be respectful and try to speak with a quiet voice.  You may not be studying, but others are.
  • Students may visit websites such as Facebook and YouTube on the computers in the building, but they may be asked to move if someone needs the computer for academic purposes.
  • Only listen to music/watch videos (on any device) if you have headphones (used at a level only you can hear). 
  • The Law Room is a quiet study area; students using the Law Room as a lounge will be asked to leave. 

Computer and Internet Use Policy

Users are prohibited from:

   Viewing Inappropriate or Unlawful Content

Content that is fraudulent, harassing, embarrassing, sexually explicit, profane, obscene, intimidating, discriminatory, hostile, suggestive, defamatory, or otherwise unlawful or inappropriate may not be downloaded or sent by e-mail or any other form of electronic communication (such as Internet postings, newsgroups, chat groups, voice mail, paging system, music, graphic and video files, etc.) or displayed on or stored in any SMC IT Resource. SMC has implemented Internet blocking software to restrict access to inappropriate Internet sites.  The Internet is a worldwide network of computers that contains millions of pages of information, some of which may contain offensive or inappropriate material.

    Circumventing Established Security

Users may not attempt to circumvent SMC data protection measures or attempt to uncover security loopholes.  Users may not gain or attempt to gain unauthorized access to restricted areas or files on SMC Information Technologies.  Users should not tamper with any software protections or restrictions placed on computer applications, files or directories. Users must immediately report suspected network, hardware or software vulnerabilities. Users will not attempt to demonstrate or exploit suspected security vulnerabilities. Users may not download or use any unauthorized security or “hacker” tools or devices.

    Violating Network Security.

Users will not conduct network mapping, discovery, port scans, traffic analysis, traffic logging or any other information gathering/discovery technique from any SMC Information Technologies device unless that action is specifically authorized in their normal duties and responsibilities and approved by the SMC IT Department. 

In order to enforce these policies, the Information Technology Department may:

    Implement Additional Security Measures: 

The SMC IT Department reserves the right to impose additional security restrictions and procedures in the future as necessary.

    Monitor Internet Use:

Monitoring includes, without limitation, any activity performed on a SMC Information Technology Resource including Internet Sites visited, material uploaded/downloaded by Users to/from the Internet, and email sent and received by users.

Loading