Need help writing your paper? Have general research questions? Get 24/7 help from a librarian!
SPRING 2024 HOURS
| Monday | 8:00am - 9:00pm |
| Tuesday | 8:00am - 9:00pm |
| Wednesday | 8:00am - 9:00pm |
| Thursday | 8:00am - 9:00pm |
| Friday | 8:00am - 3:00pm |
| Saturday | Closed |
| Sunday | 4:00pm - 9:00pm |
** Hours vary during summer session, school breaks and exams. Please call or follow us on 
for updates!
You can also follow us on 
and 
Have a Question?
Call Us: 864-587-4208
Email Us: smclibrary@smcsc.edu
Use our "Have a Question or Comment?" Form
Scholarly reference works are useful for finding background information on a topic. Finding background information can help you locate keywords for searching databases and identify more specific areas of your topic that you may want to research further.
Provides cross-searchable access to over three million entries from 273 titles and 57 publishers. Features full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject.
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Online access to several different reference titles within the following Salem Press collections: Salem Literature, Salem History, Salem Science, Salem Health and Salem Careers.
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
This growing subscription package includes over 160,000 scholarly titles across academic disciplines.
Search and view the full text of over 200,000 eBooks. Also includes titles from the eBook Academic Collection.
1. To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC. For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd19).
2. For any electronic resources listed within the ONE SEARCH, you'll be prompted to enter your full SMC email address and password.
3. Online (distance education) students may request Print books (owned by SMC) found in ONE SEARCH. These books will be mailed to the student's address free of charge (return postage will be included). Please contact us for assistance.
4. Online (distance education) students may also use PASCAL Delivers (learn more under Student Services).
If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:
Phone: 864-587-4208
Email: smclibrary@smcsc.edu