Skip to main content

ENG 101

FINDING BOOKS & EBOOKS

Getting Started

The SMC Library has a combination of resources to help you with your research, including print materials, eBooks, and online databases. 

Finding Books

How do I find out what books are in the library?  To find a book, eBook, DVD or other library material, search the SMC Library Catalog

Keep searches SIMPLE--use one to three important words, NOT a sentence
Decide whether you are searching for:
  • Random words = Keyword search
  • A topic = Subject Search
  • An Author = Author Search (lastname, firstname)
  • Words in the title = Title Search

For each item included in the Search Results, the catalog displays the availability, the call number and the physical location within the library.

EBooks retrieved by your search will have a link within the item record that will take you directly to the full-text of the eBook. For off campus access, see the OFF CAMPUS ACCESS tab.  

 

How do I figure out where a book or DVD is on the shelf?  A call number is used to identify the exact location of an item on the shelf.  

  • Items with call number beginning with A-Z are located in the general circulating collection on the 2nd floor.
  • New books, reference book, DVDs, and popular fiction are located on the main floor of the library.

Tutorial

 

Purchase Requests

Want to recommend a resource for the library collection? 

To recommend titles for purchase please send an email to Lori Hetrick at hetrickl@smcsc.edu.

PASCAL Delivers

Search the collections of college and university libraries across the state! SMC students, faculty, and staff may request books from other SC college and university libraries and have them delivered within a few business days.  You can request up to 50 books at a time with a checkout period of 6 weeks.  You will need to enter your library ID/barcode number (for students this is your student ID, for faculty/staff this is your phone number) to request books.  If you do not know your library barcode number, please contact the library.  PASCAL Delivers also offers the following services: 

  • Pick Up Anywhere:  choose to have your items sent to another participating library if that is more convenient for you.  For example, are you a distance education student that lives closer to College of Charleston?  No problem! Request your items through PASCAL Delivers and just select College of Charleston as your pick up location.
  • Visiting Patron:  You can also go in-person to visit another PASCAL Delivers library and check out the book yourself using the Visiting Patron service. Note that Visiting Patron checkouts have different limits; in-person patrons are limited to three items and the checkout period for these items is three weeks with one additional three week renewal allowed. You will need to present a picture ID and know your student ID number. 

Interlibrary Loan

Need something that is not available in our library or in PASCAL?  Try interlibrary Loan (ILL).

 

Reserves 

1. What are reserves?  Course Reserves are books, articles, and other items placed at the library by a faculty member for class use. They are located at the front desk

2. What kinds of items are on reserve?

  • books from the general collection
  • videos from the general collection
  • textbooks 
  • faculty member’s personal copies of materials
  • photocopies (i.e. book chapters, articles, practice tests)

3. What are the reserves circulation policies?

  • Reserve materials, including videos, must be used in the library.
  • Reserve materials can be checked out for up to 3 hours.
  • Students must have their student ID to borrow reserve materials.
  • Students may borrow only one reserve item at a time. 

4. Can reserve materials be copied or scanned?

Students may copy reserve materials (in accordance with *Copyright Law) at a cost of 10 cents per page. Scanning materials to a USB drive is free.

*Under Title 17 of the United States Code, it is illegal to reproduce, distribute, or publicly display any copyrighted work (or any substantial portion thereof) without the permission of the copyright owner. Exceptions can be made under fair use guidelines, but the patron, not the Library, is responsible for any violations. 

 

Off Campus Access

  • For any electronic resources listed within the Library's Catalog, you'll be prompted to enter your username (last name) and library card number/barcode (# found on the back of student ID).
  • To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15). 
  • Online (distance education) students may request Print books they find in the SMC Library Catalog.  These books will be mailed to the student's address free of charge (return postage will be included). 
  • Online (distance education) students may also use PASCAL Delivers (learn more under the Requesting Materials tab).

 

If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:

Phone:  864-587-4208

Email:  smclibrary@smcsc.edu

 

 

Loading