Skip to main content

Faculty Services

FACULTY SERVICES

Finding Books

How do I find out what books are in the library?  To find a book, eBook, DVD or other library material, search the SMC Library Catalog

Keep searches SIMPLE--use one to three important words, NOT a sentence
Decide whether you are searching for:
  • Random words = Keyword search
  • A topic = Subject Search
  • An Author = Author Search (lastname, firstname)
  • Words in the title = Title Search

For each item included in the Search Results, the catalog displays the availability, the call number and the physical location within the library.

EBooks retrieved by your search will have a link within the item record that will take you directly to the full-text of the eBook. For off campus access, see the OFF CAMPUS ACCESS tab.  

 

How do I figure out where a book or DVD is on the shelf?  A call number is used to identify the exact location of an item on the shelf.  

  • Items with call number beginning with A-Z are located in the general circulating collection on the 2nd floor.
  • New books, reference book, DVDs, and popular fiction are located on the main floor of the library.

 

Finding Articles

How and where do I find scholarly articles?  The best way to find appropriate articles for your assignments is by searching the library's online databases.  The databases include articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. You can limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly journals within each database.

Select the ARTICLES tab on the homepage then click on the Databases A-Z link to be taken to the databases guide.  You can then search multiple EBSCO or GALE databases by using the search boxes on the main tab, or you can select a single database by clicking on the specific name of the database you want to search.  

Instructions for off campus access are included within the Databases A-Z guide.

 

Purchase Requests

Want to recommend a resource for the library collection? 

To recommend titles for purchase please send an email to Lori Hetrick at hetrickl@smcsc.edu.

PASCAL Delivers

Search the collections of college and university libraries across the state! SMC students, faculty, and staff may request books from other SC college and university libraries and have them delivered within a few business days.  You will need to enter your library ID/barcode number (for students this is your student ID, for faculty/staff this is your phone number) to request books.  If you do not know your library barcode number, please contact the library.

Interlibrary Loan

Need something that is not available in our library or in PASCAL?  Try interlibrary Loan (ILL).

 

 

Borrowing 

Students

  • Must have a valid SMC I.D. or photo I.D. to borrow materials.
  • Books - 2 week loan period (no limit)
  • Best Sellers - 3 day loan period (up to 10 at a time)
  • DVDs - 1 day loan period (up to 2 at a time)
  • Checked out materials may be renewed once (unless overdue).
  • Reserves - in library use only unless faculty member gives permission stating otherwise.

Faculty and Staff

  • Books - Month loan period, but can be renewed unlimited amount of times throughout the semester (no limit)
  • Best Sellers - 3 day loan period (no limit)
  • DVDs - 7 day loan period (no limit)

Alumni:  see library staff

Community Patrons:  Public patrons are welcome to use materials within the library.  

____________________________________________________________________________

Fees

  • Student printing - up to 200 free prints per semester
  • Student copying - $.10/page for B/W, $.25/page for color
  • Public copying $.10/page for B/W, $.25/page for color
  • Overdue fine $.10/ day
  • Lost/ damaged books - $55.00

Renew your books here. You will need your last name and library barcode number (same as student ID #). 

 

Reserves

1. How do I request reserves?

Requests should be emailed Ottis Allen (allenoe@smcsc.edu) or Lori Hetrick (hetrickl@smcsc.edu).  Please submit requests at least 24 hours before needed for class assignments.

2. What can be placed on reserve?

  • books from the general collection
  • videos from the general collection
  • textbooks (please request a copy be ordered at least 2 weeks prior to the beginning of the semester needed)
  • faculty member’s personal copies of materials
  • photocopies (1 copy per source in accordance with *Copyright Law)

Reserve materials will only be on reserve for one semester (or less if desired by the faculty member).  A new request will need to be sent every semester for continuing use.  This is to ensure that Library materials are not perpetually unavailable for outside circulation.

3. What are the reserves circulation policies?

  • Reserve materials, including videos, must be used in-house.
  • Reserve materials must be returned within 3 hours. 
  • Students must have their student ID to borrow reserve materials.
  • Students may borrow only one reserve item at a time. 

We cannot guarantee that a space will always be available for viewing of DVDs; as such, it is best to request that DVDs be shown over the campus network.  Faculty can arrange for DVD showings by contacting Ottis Allen (allenoe@smcsc.edu). 

4. Can reserve materials be copied or scanned?

Students may copy reserve materials (in accordance with *Copyright Law) at a cost of 10 cents per page. Scanning materials to a USB drive is free.

*Under Title 17 of the United States Code, it is illegal to reproduce, distribute, or publicly display any copyrighted work (or any substantial portion thereof) without the permission of the copyright owner. Exceptions can be made under fair use guidelines, but the patron, not the Library, is responsible for any violations. 

 

Library Instruction

For any questions regarding library orientation or instruction for your class, please contact Jonathan Kirsch or Lori Hetrick

The following instruction services are available: 

Face to Face:

Faculty can request an instruction session in the library or their classroom.  

  • Sessions should be scheduled at least two weeks in advance to permit the librarian to make adequate preparation for instruction such as creating handouts and/or a web-based LibGuide for class use.  

  • Schedule the session close to the time when students will actually need to be using the library. Make it relevant!
  • Provide a copy of the assignment and learning outcomes.
  • Accompany your class to the library session and add your comments and questions.

LibGuides A librarian can create a class or subject specific LibGuide (library research guide) intended to help students discover a variety of sources relevant to their subject area. Example: ENG102.  Please contact Jonathan Kirsch or Lori Hetrick to discuss options.
Course Embedded Librarian:

Faculty can add a librarian as an assistant to their online course. The librarian can add links to library resources, answer questions pertaining to library research, and more. Please contact Jonathan Kirsch or Lori Hetrick to discuss options.

 

 

The library provides an institutional subscription to the Chronicle of Higher Education.  Premium access is granted to anyone accessing Chronicle.com from on campus.  

 

Off Campus Access

Off campus access to the library's electronic resources is provided multiple ways:

1.  For any electronic resources listed within the Library's Catalog, you'll be prompted to enter your username (last name) and library card number/barcode (for faculty & staff this is your 9 digit phone number).

2.  To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15). 

 

If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:

Phone:  864-587-4208

Email:  smclibrary@smcsc.edu

Loading