Skip to main content

Marie Blair Burgess Library Home

LIBRARY RESOURCES

Search the Library Catalog

Over 43,000 physical items and 290,000 eBooks are searchable through the SMC Library Catalog. To access the eBooks from off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your username (last name) and library card number/barcode (for students this is your student ID, for faculty/staff this is your 10 digit phone number).  If you do not know your library barcode number, please contact the library.

Renew your books here. You will need your last name and barcode (on the back of your ID).

Search eBook Collections

The majority of our eBooks are accessible through the SMC Library Catalog.  To access the following eBook collections from off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access your SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15).

Search PASCAL Delivers

Search the collections of college and university libraries across the state! SMC students, faculty, and staff may request books from other SC college and university libraries and have them delivered within a few business days.  You will need to enter your library ID/barcode number (for students this is your student ID, for faculty/staff this is your phone number) to request books.  If you do not know your library barcode number, please contact the library.

 

Search the Databases

The Library provides access to over 80 online research databases.  Use the research databases to find scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, eBooks, government documents, and more.  Using the databases provided by the library will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.  A database may be dedicated to a single subject or cover several subjects.

Search multiple EBSCO or GALE Databases below, or visit our Databases A-Z Guide  to see a list of all databases.

To access the online research databases, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15). 

 

Search Multiple EBSCO Databases
Limit Your Results

 

 

 

Research Guides

Use subject-related and course-specific research guides created by librarians to assist you with your research topics.

 

Off Campus Access

  • For any electronic resources listed within the Library's Catalog, you'll be prompted to enter your username (last name) and library card number/barcode (# found on the back of student ID).
  • To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15). 
  • Online (distance education) students may request Print books they find in the SMC Library Catalog.  These books will be mailed to the student's address free of charge (return postage will be included). 
  • Online (distance education) students may also use PASCAL Delivers (learn more under Student Services).

 

If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:

Phone:  864-587-4208

Email:  smclibrary@smcsc.edu

 

Loading