The SMC Library has a combination of resources to help you with your research, including print materials, eBooks, and online databases.
How do I find out what books are in the library? To find a book, eBook, DVD or other library material, search the SMC Library Catalog.
|Keep searches SIMPLE--use one to three important words, NOT a sentence|
|Decide whether you are searching for:|
For each item included in the Search Results, the catalog displays the availability, the call number and the physical location within the library.
EBooks retrieved by your search will have a link within the item record that will take you directly to the full-text of the eBook. For off campus access, see the OFF CAMPUS ACCESS tab.
How do I figure out where a book or DVD is on the shelf? A call number is used to identify the exact location of an item on the shelf.
How and where do I find scholarly articles? The best way to find appropriate articles for your assignments is by searching the library's online databases. The databases include articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. You can limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly journals within each database.
Select the ARTICLES tab on the homepage then click on the Databases A-Z link to be taken to the databases guide. You can then search multiple EBSCO or GALE databases by using the search boxes on the main tab, or you can select a single database by clicking on the specific name of the database you want to search.
Instructions for off campus access are included within the Databases A-Z guide.
Search the collections of college and university libraries across the state! SMC students, faculty, and staff may request books from other SC college and university libraries and have them delivered within a few business days. You can request up to 50 books at a time with a checkout period of 6 weeks. You will need to enter your library ID/barcode number (for students this is your student ID, for faculty/staff this is your phone number) to request books. If you do not know your library barcode number, please contact the library. PASCAL Delivers also offers the following services:
Need something that is not available in our library or in PASCAL? Try interlibrary Loan (ILL).
1. What are reserves? Course Reserves are books, articles, and other items placed at the library by a faculty member for class use. They are located at the front desk.