SPRING 2024 HOURS
| Monday | 8:00am - 9:00pm |
| Tuesday | 8:00am - 9:00pm |
| Wednesday | 8:00am - 9:00pm |
| Thursday | 8:00am - 9:00pm |
| Friday | 8:00am - 3:00pm |
| Saturday | Closed |
| Sunday | 4:00pm - 9:00pm |
** Hours vary during summer session, school breaks and exams. Please call or follow us on 
for updates!
You can also follow us on 
and 
Have a Question?
Call Us: 864-587-4208
Email Us: smclibrary@smcsc.edu
Use our "Have a Question or Comment?" Form
How and where do I find scholarly articles? The best way to find appropriate articles for your assignments is by searching the library's online databases. The databases include articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. You can limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly journals within each database.
The Library provides access to over 80 online research databases. Use the research databases to find scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, eBooks, government documents, and more. Using the databases provided by the library will help you find reliable information from trusted sources. A database may be dedicated to a single subject or cover several subjects.
To access the online research databases from off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC. For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd19).
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It allows users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Provides content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.