Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
Essay and General Literature Index
A unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications.
Gale Literary Sources
Brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of Gale's literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections XV and VII.
Literary Reference Center
A full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.
Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
The Modern Language Association's comprehensive index of scholarly journals and series in literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1920s to the present.
New Hours Starting Sunday, September 13th (FALL 2020):
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 8:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 2:00pm
*Hours vary during summer session, school breaks and exams. Please call or follow us on for updates!
Have a Question?
Call Us: 864-587-4208
Email Us: email@example.com
Use our "Have a Question or Comment?" Form
The Library provides access to over 80 online research databases. Using the databases provided by the library will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.
Visit our Databases A-Z Guide for a full list of databases.
*Off campus access: to access the Library's online Databases you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC. For the username, you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15)
Search Multiple EBSCO Databases at Once
Search Multiple Gale Databases at Once