Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marie Blair Burgess Library Home

LIBRARY RESOURCES

Search the new ONE SEARCH!

One search provides one-stop searching for books, eBooks, journal articles, DVDS and more.  

Sign in using your SMC email username & password in order to:

  • Renew items
  • Request books from other South Carolina libraries (PASCAL Delivers)
  • Save searches and lists of items
 

Search eBook Collections

All of our eBook collections can be searched via our new ONE SEARCH system.  You can also view individual eBook collections below. To access the following eBook collections from off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC email username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access your SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd19).

 

Article Databases

All of our research databases can now be searched via our ONE SEARCH system.  You can also view individual databases by visiting our Databases A-Z Guide 

Use the research databases to find scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, eBooks, government documents, and more.  Using the databases provided by the library will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.  A database may be dedicated to a single subject or cover several subjects.

To access the online research databases from off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd19). 

Research Guides

Use subject-related and course-specific research guides created by librarians to assist you with your research topics.

 

Off Campus Access

1. To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd19). 

 

2. For any electronic resources listed within the ONE SEARCH, you'll be prompted to enter your full SMC email address and password.  

 

What if I'm an online student?  Online (distance education) students may request Print books (owned by SMC) found in ONE SEARCHThese books will be mailed to the student's address free of charge (return postage will be included). Email smclibrary@smcsc.edu with the following information:  name, address, phone number, title of the book, call number. 

 

 What if the SMC Library doesn't have the book I'm looking for?  Search the collections of college and university libraries across the state with PASCAL Delivers! PASCAL Delivers is now searchable via or new ONE SEARCH system.  SMC students, faculty, and staff may request books from other SC college and university libraries and have them delivered within a few business days.  You can request up to 50 books at a time with a checkout period of 6 weeks. PASCAL also offers the following:

  • Pick Up Anywhere:  choose to have your items send to another participating library if that is more convenient for you.  For example, are you a distance education student that lives closer to College of Charleston?  No problem! Request your items through PASCAL Delivers and just select College of Charleston as your pick up location.
  • Visiting Patron:  You can also go in-person to visit another PASCAL Delivers library and check out the book yourself using the Visiting Patron service. Note that Visiting Patron checkouts have different limits; in-person patrons are limited to three items and the checkout period for these items is three weeks with one additional three week renewal allowed. You will need to present a picture ID and know your student ID number. 

 

If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:

Phone:  864-587-4208

Email:  smclibrary@smcsc.edu

 

FACULTY SERVICES

 

Purchase Requests

Want to recommend a resource for the library collection? 

To recommend titles for purchase please send an email to Lori Hetrick at hetrickl@smcsc.edu.

Interlibrary Loan

Need something that is not available in our library or in PASCAL?  Try interlibrary Loan (ILL).

 

Borrowing 

Students

  • Must have a valid SMC I.D. or photo I.D. to borrow materials.
  • Books - 14 day loan period (no limit)
  • Best Sellers - 14 day loan period (up to 10 at a time)
  • DVDs - 3 day loan period (up to 2 at a time)
  • Checked out materials may be renewed once (unless overdue).
  • Reserves - in library use only unless faculty member gives permission stating otherwise.

Faculty and Staff

  • Books - 30 day loan period, but can be renewed unlimited amount of times throughout the semester (no limit)
  • Best Sellers - 30 day loan period (no limit)
  • DVDs - 7 day loan period (no limit)

Alumni:  see library staff

Community Patrons:  Public patrons are welcome to use materials within the library.  

____________________________________________________________________________

Fees

  • Student printing - up to 250 free prints per semester
  • Student copying - $.10/page for B/W, $.25/page for color
  • Public copying $.10/page for B/W, $.25/page for color
  • Overdue fine $.10/ day
  • Lost/ damaged books - $55.00

 

Reserves

1. How do I request reserves?

Requests should be emailed Ottis Allen (allenoe@smcsc.edu) or Lori Hetrick (hetrickl@smcsc.edu).  Please submit requests at least 24 hours before needed for class assignments.

2. What can be placed on reserve?

  • books from the general collection
  • videos from the general collection
  • textbooks (please request a copy be ordered at least 2 weeks prior to the beginning of the semester needed)
  • faculty member’s personal copies of materials
  • photocopies (1 copy per source in accordance with *Copyright Law)

Reserve materials will only be on reserve for one semester (or less if desired by the faculty member).  A new request will need to be sent every semester for continuing use.  This is to ensure that Library materials are not perpetually unavailable for outside circulation.

Reference Material (Library Use Only Label) cannot be placed on Reserve.  These materials are already designated as in house use only.

3. What are the reserves circulation policies?

  • Reserve materials, including videos, must be used in-house.
  • Reserve materials must be returned within 2 hours. 
  • Students must have their student ID to borrow reserve materials.

4. Can reserve materials be copied or scanned?

Students may copy reserve materials (in accordance with *Copyright Law) free of charge. Scanning materials to a USB drive is also free.

*Under Title 17 of the United States Code, it is illegal to reproduce, distribute, or publicly display any copyrighted work (or any substantial portion thereof) without the permission of the copyright owner. Exceptions can be made under fair use guidelines, but the patron, not the Library, is responsible for any violations. 

 

Library Instruction

For any questions regarding library orientation or instruction for your class, please contact Mary Diones or Lori Hetrick

The following instruction services are available: 

Face to Face:

Faculty can request an instruction session in the library or their classroom.  

  • Sessions should be scheduled at least two weeks in advance to permit the librarian to make adequate preparation for instruction such as creating handouts and/or a web-based LibGuide for class use.  

  • Schedule the session close to the time when students will actually need to be using the library. Make it relevant!
  • Provide a copy of the assignment and learning outcomes.
  • Accompany your class to the library session and add your comments and questions.

LibGuides A librarian can create a class or subject specific LibGuide (library research guide) intended to help students discover a variety of sources relevant to their subject area. Example: ENG102.  Please contact Mary Diones to discuss options.
Course Embedded Librarian:

Faculty can add a librarian as an assistant to their online course. The librarian can add links to library resources, answer questions pertaining to library research, and more. Please contact Mary Diones to discuss options.

 

 

The library provides an institutional subscription to the Chronicle of Higher Education.  Premium access is granted to anyone accessing Chronicle.com from on campus.  

 

Off Campus Access

1. To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd19). 

 

2. For any electronic resources listed within the ONE SEARCH, you'll be prompted to enter your full SMC email address and password.  

 

What if I'm an online student?  Online (distance education) students may request Print books (owned by SMC) found in ONE SEARCHThese books will be mailed to the student's address free of charge (return postage will be included). Email smclibrary@smcsc.edu with the following information:  name, address, phone number, title of the book, call number. 

 

What if the SMC Library doesn't have the book I'm looking for?  Search the collections of college and university libraries across the state with PASCAL Delivers! PASCAL Delivers is now searchable via or new ONE SEARCH system.  SMC students, faculty, and staff may request books from other SC college and university libraries and have them delivered within a few business days.  You can request up to 50 books at a time with a checkout period of 6 weeks. PASCAL also offers the following:

  • Pick Up Anywhere:  choose to have your items send to another participating library if that is more convenient for you.  For example, are you a distance education student that lives closer to College of Charleston?  No problem! Request your items through PASCAL Delivers and just select College of Charleston as your pick up location.
  • Visiting Patron:  You can also go in-person to visit another PASCAL Delivers library and check out the book yourself using the Visiting Patron service. Note that Visiting Patron checkouts have different limits; in-person patrons are limited to three items and the checkout period for these items is three weeks with one additional three week renewal allowed. You will need to present a picture ID and know your student ID number.