SUMMER 2024 HOURS
| Monday | 8:00 am - 5:00 pm |
| Tuesday | 8:00 am - 5:00 pm |
| Wednesday | 8:00 am - 5:00 pm |
| Thursday | 8:00 am - 5:00 pm |
| Friday | 8:00 am - 1:00 pm |
| Saturday | Closed |
| Sunday | Closed |
** Hours vary during summer session, school breaks and exams. Please call or follow us on 
for updates!
You can also follow us on 
and 
Have a Question?
Call Us: 864-587-4208
Email Us: smclibrary@smcsc.edu
Use our "Have a Question or Comment?" Form
Sometimes it can be hard to think of what kinds of primary sources might be available for the topic you are interested in. Here are some strategies you can use to start your search.
You can use the library search system - OneSearch to find books with primary sources. This includes reprints of original works like letters, speeches, and diaries, as well as published works like autobiographies.
Use Keywords to search for common kinds of primary source materials
|
|
|
When searching in One Search, using the Advanced Search option to limit your results. Use the subject heading for primary sources and type in sources for your search.. A subject heading is like a #hashtag in social media. Each item is 'tagged' with what it is about and the tag allows users to search for things on that topic, or click on the tag to get more items like it.
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. going back as far as 1887.
This multi-disciplinary database provides the full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full-text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It allows users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Provides content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
The search shown below for Thomas Jefferson as author and a publication type limiter for primary source document would find inaugural addresses and letters. When searching for primary source documents, look also for document type limiters such as speech or interview.
