Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FALL 2022 HOURS
Monday - Thursday: 8:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
*Hours vary during summer session, school breaks and exams. Please call or follow us on for updates!
Have a Question?
Call Us: 864-587-4208
Email Us: firstname.lastname@example.org
Use our "Have a Question or Comment?" Form
Scholarly reference works are useful for finding background information on a topic. Finding background information can help you locate keywords for searching databases and identify more specific areas of your topic that you may want to research further.
ONLINE REFERENCE COLLECTIONS
*Off campus access: to access the Library's online Databases you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC. For the username, you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15).
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-searchable access to over three million entries from 273 titles and 57 publishers. Features full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Salem Press eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Online access to several different reference titles within the following Salem Press collections: Salem Literature, Salem History, Salem Science, Salem Health and Salem Careers.