Library Topic Guides: Holocaust: Holocaust

Where to Find Information

Major Nazi camps in Europe, January 1944

Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum
A memorial and museum in Oświęcim (German: Auschwitz), Poland, which includes the German concentration camps Auschwitz I and Auschwitz II-Birkenau. It is devoted to the memory of the murders in both camps during World War II
Holocaust Memorial Center
This center in Budapest is a renovated synagogue that dates back to the 1920s and serves as a memorial and museum for and about Hungarian Jews that were murdered in the Holocaust.
Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe
Located in Berlin, this is a place of remembrance and commemoration for the up to six million Jewish victims of the Holocaust. It was officially opened on 10 May 2005. The monument consists of the Field of Stelae designed by Peter Eisenman and the underground Information Centre.
Simon Wiesenthal Center
A global Jewish human rights organization that confronts anti-Semitism, hate and terrorism, promotes human rights and dignity, stands with Israel, defends the safety of Jews worldwide, and teaches the lessons of the Holocaust for future generations.
** United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Free to the public, the museum rovides a powerful lesson in the fragility of freedom, the myth of progress, and the need for vigilance in preserving democratic values. Videos, documents, photos, and more can be viewed online - https://collections.ushmm.org/search/
Weiner Library for the Holocaust & Genocide
In London, this is one of the world’s leading and most extensive archives on the Holocaust, the Nazi era and genocide. The Library’s unique collection of over one million items includes published and unpublished works, press cuttings, photographs and eyewitness testimony.
Yad Vashem
Yad Vashem, the World Holocaust Remembrance Center, is the ultimate source for Holocaust education, documentation and research. From the Mount of Remembrance in Jerusalem, Yad Vashem's integrated approach incorporates meaningful educational initiatives, groundbreaking research and inspirational exhibits.

Anne Frank Center at USC - College of Education | University of South Carolina

The University of South Carolina is the Official U.S. Partner of the Anne Frank House in Amsterdam, and the only partner site in North America.

The Anne Frank Center on the USC campus brings to life the story of the young Jewish girl who – in the pages of her world-renowned diary – documented two years of hiding in German-occupied Amsterdam during World War II. By sharing Anne's legacy with visitors, students and teachers, USC’s Anne Frank Center seeks to inspire our commitment to never be bystanders but instead to stand up together against antisemitism, bigotry and inequality wherever it may exist today.

Nuremberg Trials
After the war, Allied powers—United States, Great Britain, France, and the Soviet Union—came together to form the International Military Tribunal (IMT). From 1945 to 1946, Nazi Germany leaders stood trial for crimes against peace, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and conspiracy to commit any of the foregoing crimes.

This website contains detailed information about the trial with lists of judges, prosectures, videos of the trial and more.

Defendants at the Nuremberg War Crimes Tribunal in the Palace of Justice Courtroom on November 27, 1945.

People pictured (see also image notes) :

first row, from left to right, Alfred Rosenberg (1893-1946, hanged), Hans Frank (1900-1946, hanged), Wilhelm Frick (1877-1946, hanged), Konstantin von Neurath (1873-1956), Walther Funk (1890-1960) ;
second row, Alfred Jodl (1890-1946, hanged), Franz von Papen (1879-1969), Arthur Seyss-Inquart (1892-1946, hanged), Albert Speer (1905-1981), Julius Streicher not firmly identified (1885-1946, hanged).

Public domain photo from https://picryl.com/media/defendants-nuremberg-war-crimes-tribunal-

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It allows users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
The largest library in the world, with millions of books, films and video, audio recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
The Library preserves and provides access to a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge to inform, inspire and engage you in your intellectual and creative endeavors.
New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Over 930,000 digitized items. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Provides content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

This is just a selection of titles. To find a more comprehensive list of titles, please see the Holocaust Collection. You can also find books available in the D800's and DS 130's. Also, use the catalog to search for Nazi Germany, Hitler, and World War II. Use the index (back of the book) to look for Jews or Holocaust.

Auschwitz by Sara Nomberg-Przytyk
Call Number: D805.P7 N6 1985
ISBN: 0807816299
Publication Date: 1985
Sara Nomberg-Przytyk relays this painful and compelling account of her experiences while imprisoned for two years in the infamous death camp. But while she records unimaginable atrocities, she also richly describes the human compassion that stubbornly survived despite the backdrop of camp depersonalization and imminent extermination. With consummate understatement Nomberg-Przytyk describes the behavior of concentration camp inmates as she relentlessly and pitilessly examines her own motives and feelings. This book offers a chilling view of the human drama that existed in Auschwitz.
Britain and the Jews of Europe, 1939-1945 by Bernard Wasserstein
Call Number: D810.J4 W372
ISBN: 0198226004
Publication Date: 1979
An account of British bureaucratic blindness to the Jewish catastrophe in Europe shows that Churchill's efforts in behalf of the Jews were continually thwarted by subordinates.
Children During the Holocaust by Patricia Heberer
Call Number: D804.48 .H43 2011
ISBN: 9780759119840
Publication Date: 2011
Children during the Holocaust, from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies, tells the story of the Holocaust through the eyes, and fates, of its youngest victims.
The Diary of Samuel Golfard and the Holocaust in Galicia by Wendy Lower
Call Number: DS135.U43 G634 2015
ISBN: 9780759120792
Publication Date: 2015
The Diary of Samuel Golfard and the Holocaust in Galicia examines the contents and context of a rare diary written by a Jewish man from Nazi-occupied Poland. Serving as both a record and an artifact of Samuel Golfard’s life, the diary details his attempt to make sense of and resist the event that ultimately destroyed him. Wendy Lower integrates photographs, newspaper articles, documents, and testimonies to create a more complete picture of Golfard’s experiences and writings.
End of the Holocaust by Jon Bridgman
Call Number: D802.A2 B72 1990
ISBN: 0918400120
Publication Date: 1990
Jon Bridgman’s account embraces the immediate prelude to the liberation of the camps when the advancing Allied armies provoked contradictory orders from Hitler and Himmler, the circumstances of the liberation of each of the camps, the policies of the various liberators, and the consequences of liberation, in particular its effect on American and European perceptions of the war and its aftermath.
Geographies of the Holocaust by Anne Kelly Knowles (Editor)
Call Number: D804.348 .G46 2014
ISBN: 9780253012111
Publication Date: 2014
This book explores the geographies of the Holocaust at every scale of human experience, from the European continent to the experiences of individual human bodies. Built on six innovative case studies, it brings together historians, geographers, and geographic information scientists to interrogate the places and spaces of the genocide.
The Holocaust by Laurence Rees
Call Number: D804.3 .R433 2017
ISBN: 9781610398442
Publication Date: 2017
Through a chronological, intensely readable narrative, featuring enthralling eyewitness testimony and the latest academic research, this is a compelling new account of the worst crime in history.
Out of the whirlwind : a reader of holocaust literature by Friedlander, Albert H., compiler
Call Number: DS135.E83 F72 1968
Publication Date: 1968
This classic anthology of literature from the Holocaust has been revised and expanded to include more than 40 accounts that stand as testimony to the broad range of experiences of the Holocaust. Organized thematically, Out of the Whirlwind includes excerpts from Daniel Jonah Goldhagen's Hitler's Willing Executioners, Art Spiegelman's Maus, Primo Levi's The Drowned and the Saved, and many others.
The Political Diary of Alfred Rosenberg and the Onset of the Holocaust by Jürgen Matthäus
Call Number: DD247.R58 M38 2015
ISBN: 9781442251670
Publication Date: 2015
In December 2013, after years of exhaustive search, the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum received more than four hundred pages of diary notes written by one of the most prominent Nazis, the Party's chief ideologue and Reich minister for the occupied Soviet territories Alfred Rosenberg. By combining Rosenberg's diary notes with additional key documents and in-depth analysis, this book shows Rosenberg's crucial role in the Nazi regime's anti-Jewish policy.
While Six Million Died by Arthur D. Morse
Call Number: D810.J4 M59
ISBN: 9780879511746
Publication Date: 1983-07-09
This book details, through documents, official papers and interviews with participants and research in archives in key world cities the true narrative of what was known, and the unconscionable delay of active response to the Nazi declaration that they "intended to destroy every Jew in Europe." How this challenge was met is the subject of this book. If genocide is to be prevented in the future, we must understand how it happened, not only in terms of the killers, but of the bystanders

The Betrayal of the Humanities : The University During the Third Reich
The Betrayal of the Humanities details not only how individual scholars, particular departments, and even entire universities collaborated with the Nazi regime but also examines the legacy of this era on higher education in Germany. In particular, it looks at the peculiar position of many German scholars in the post-war world having to defend their own work, or the work of their mentors, while simultaneously not appearing to accept Nazism.
Bioethics and the Holocaust : A Comprehensive Study in How the Holocaust Continues to Shape the Ethics of Health, Medicine and Human Rights
This book offers a framework for understanding how the Holocaust has shaped and continues to shape medical ethics, health policy, and questions related to human rights around the world. The field of bioethics continues to face questions of social and medical controversy that have their roots in the lessons of the Holocaust, such as debates over beginning-of-life and medical genetics, end-of-life matters such as medical aid in dying, the development of ethical codes and regulations to guide human subject research, and human rights abuses in vulnerable populations.
Birds of Prey : Hitler’s Luftwaffe, Ordinary Soldiers, and the Holocaust in Poland
Birds of Prey is a microhistory of the Nazi occupation of Białowieźa Forest, Poland’s national park. The narrative stretches from Göring’s palatial lifestyle to the common soldier on the ground killing Jews, partisans, and civilians.
Citizen Spielberg
Incisive and discerning, Citizen Spielberg offers a career-spanning appraisal of a moviemaking icon.
Contending with Antisemitism in a Rapidly Changing Political Climate
Antisemitic incidents of all kinds are on the rise across the world, including hate speech, the spread of neo-Nazi graffiti and other forms of verbal and written threats, the defacement of synagogues and Jewish cemeteries, and acts of murderous terror. Contending with Antisemitism in a Rapidly Changing Political Climate is an edited collection of 18 essays that address antisemitism in its new and resurgent forms.
Growing in the Shadow of Antifascism : Remembering the Holocaust in State-Socialist Eastern Europe
Reined into the service of the Cold War confrontation, antifascist ideology overshadowed the narrative about the Holocaust in the communist states of Eastern Europe. This led to the Western notion that in the Soviet Bloc there was a systematic suppression of the memory of the mass murder of European Jews in the. Going beyond disputing the mistaken opposition between "communist falsification" of history and the "repressed authentic" interpretation of the Jewish catastrophe, this work presents and analyzes the ways as the Holocaust was conceptualized in the Soviet-ruled parts of Europe.
Tracing and Documenting Nazi Victims Past and Present
After World War II, tracing and documenting Nazi victims emerged against the background of millions of missing persons and early compensation proceedings. This was a process in which the Allies, international aid organizations, and survivors themselves took part. Institutions involved in this work were inevitably confronted with contentious issues--such as varying political mandates, neutrality vs. solidarity with those formerly persecuted, data protection vs. public interest, and many more. This is the first publication to explore this multifaceted history of tracing and documenting past and present.
Ukrainian Nationalists and the Holocaust : OUN and UPA’s Participation in the Destruction of Ukrainian Jewry, 1941–1944
This book delineates the participation of the Organization of Ukrainian Nationalists (OUN) and its armed force, the Ukrainian Insurgent Army (Ukrainska povstanska armiia—UPA), in the destruction of the Jewish population of Ukraine under German occupation in 1941–44.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by Herman, Mark
Call Number: Shelved by Title (Fiction)
ISBN: 0788884026
Publication Date: 2015
Set in Poland during World War II. Innocent and naive 8-year-old Bruno is bored and restless in his new home. Ignoring his mother, he sets off on an adventure in the woods. He comes across a high fence which separates him from the people he can see through it. Soon he meets a young boy in striped pajamas, and a surprising friendship develops.
Corrie ten Boom : a faith undefeated. by Moore, Pamela Rosewell, interviewee
Call Number: BR 1725 .T35 C67 2013
Publication Date: 2013
When Nazi forces invaded Holland in 1940 and began rounding up Jews, Corrie ten Boom, her sister Betsie, and their elderly father risked their lives to save as many as possible. A hidden room was secretly built in their home where the oppressed Jews took refuge until a Gestapo raid put an end to their operation. For their 'crimes,' Corrie and Betsie were sent to the notorious concentration camp at Ravensbruck, where they suffered relentless cruelty.
Denial by Foster, Gary
Call Number: Shelved by Title (Fiction)
Publication Date: 2017
When Deborah Lipstadt speaks out against Holocaust denier David Irving over his falsification of history, she discovers that the stakes are higher than ever in the battle for historical truth. Now faced with a libel lawsuit in British court, Lipstadt and her attorney have the heavy burden of proving that the Holocaust actually happened, in a riveting legal fight with stunning consequences.
Exodus by Trumbo, Dalton
Call Number: Shelved by Title (Fiction)
ISBN: 0792853695
Publication Date: 2002
This film dramatizes part of the Israeli independence moment, dealing with various factions involved in the internecine struggle between the moderate Haganah and the radical terrorist Irgun Zvai Leumi. Interspersed throughout are segments showing the migration of European Jews to the new land, paying special attention to the ragged survivors of Nazi death camps on board the vessel Exodus, blockaded in a Cyprus harbor by British warships.
The Pianist by Sarde, Alain
Call Number: Shelved by Title (Non-Fiction)
ISBN: 1417020059
Publication Date: 2006
Based on the memoirs of Wladyslaw Szpilman, a Polish Jew, who was a brilliant pianist. He watched as his family was shipped off to Nazi labor camps. He managed to escape and lived for years in the ruins of Warsaw, hiding from the Nazis
Return to the Hiding Place by Spencer, Peter
Call Number: Shelved by Title (Fiction)
ISBN: 0019962241338
Publication Date: 2013
In WWII Holland, Corrie ten Boom drafted a secret resistance army of untrained university students who navigated a deadly labyrinth of hijackings, rescue missions and underground networks to save and transport over 880 Jewish people in their panicked exodus from death. This thrilling, true tale of young people daring to resist one of history's cruelest tyrants attests that a brave, faithful few can change the tide of history.
Schindler's list by Lustig, Branko
Call Number: Shelved by Title (Fiction)
ISBN: 9781417002115
Publication Date: 1993
The story of a Catholic war profiteer, Oskar Schindler, who risked his life and went bankrupt in order to save more than 1,000 Jews from certain death in concentration camps. He employed Jews in his crockery factory manufacturing goods for the German army. At the same time he tries to stay solvent with the help of a Jewish accountant and negotiates business with a vicious Nazi commandant who enjoys shooting Jews as target practice from the balcony of his villa that overlooks the prison camp he commands.
The U.S. and the Holocaust by Burns, Ken
Call Number: D804.45.U55 U55 2022
ISBN: 9781531715014
Publication Date: 2022
This three-part, six-hour documentary series examines how the American people and leaders responded to one of the greatest humanitarian disasters of the twentieth century, and how this catastrophe challenged America's identity as a nation of immigrants and the very ideals of democracy.
The zookeeper's wife by Abberley, Jeff
Call Number: Shelved by Title (Non-Fiction)
Publication Date: 2017
The real-life story of one working wife and mother who became a hero to hundreds during World War II. In 1939 Poland, Antonina Żabińska and her husband, Dr. Jan Żabiński, have the Warsaw Zoo flourishing under his stewardship and her care. When the Germans invade their country, they are forced to report to the Reich's newly appointed chief zoologist, Lutz Heck. To fight back on their own terms, Antonina and Jan covertly begin working with the Resistance.