Library Topic Guides: Business: FIND ARTICLES (DATABASES)

Contact Us

SUMMER 2023 HOURS

Monday - Thursday: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Friday: 8:00am - 1:00pm

Saturday: CLOSED

Sunday: CLOSED

*Hours vary during summer session, school breaks and exams.* Please call or follow us on for updates!

You can also follow us on and

Have a Question?

Call Us: 864-587-4208

Email Us: smclibrary@smcsc.edu

Use our "Have a Question or Comment?" Form

FINDING ARTICLES

Finding Articles

How and where do I find scholarly articles? The best way to find appropriate articles for your assignments is by searching the library's online databases. The databases include articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. You can limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly journals within each database.

The Library provides access to over 80 online research databases. Use the research databases to find scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, eBooks, government documents, and more. Using the databases provided by the library will help you find reliable information from trusted sources. A database may be dedicated to a single subject or cover several subjects.

All of our research databases can now be searched via our ONE SEARCH system. You can also view individual databases by visiting our Databases A-Z Guide

To access the online research databases from off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC. For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd19).

SUGGESTED DATABASES

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship (previously Small Business Resource Center) This link opens in a new window
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections XV and VII.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online provides business and financial information for over 23,000 U.S. and international companies. Mergent Online is useful for finding information about specific companies.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies.