Skip to main content

American Literature

FINDING BOOKS & EBOOKS

Getting Started

The SMC Library has a combination of resources to help you with your research, including print materials, eBooks, and online databases. 

Finding Books

How do I find out what books are in the library?  

Search the new ONE SEARCH!

One search provides one-stop searching for books, eBooks, journal articles, DVDS and more.  

Sign in using your SMC email username & password in order to:

  • Renew items
  • Request books from other South Carolina libraries (PASCAL Delivers)
  • Save searches and lists of items
 

 

How do I figure out where a book or DVD is on the shelf?  A call number is used to identify the exact location of an item on the shelf.  

  • Items with call number beginning with A-Z are located in the general circulating collection on the 2nd floor.
  • New books, reference book, DVDs, and popular fiction are located on the main floor of the library.

 

Purchase Requests

Want to recommend a resource for the library collection? 

To recommend titles for purchase please send an email to Lori Hetrick at hetrickl@smcsc.edu.

Interlibrary Loan

Need something that is not available in our library or in PASCAL?  Try interlibrary Loan (ILL).

 

Reserves 

1. What are reserves?  Course Reserves are books, articles, and other items placed at the library by a faculty member for class use. They are located at the front desk

2. What kinds of items are on reserve?

  • books from the general collection
  • videos from the general collection
  • textbooks 
  • faculty member’s personal copies of materials
  • photocopies (i.e. book chapters, articles, practice tests)

3. What are the reserves circulation policies?

  • Reserve materials, including videos, must be used in the library.
  • Reserve materials can be checked out for up to 3 hours.
  • Students must have their student ID to borrow reserve materials.
  • Students may borrow only one reserve item at a time. 

4. Can reserve materials be copied or scanned?

Students may copy reserve materials (in accordance with *Copyright Law) at a cost of 10 cents per page. Scanning materials to a USB drive is free.

*Under Title 17 of the United States Code, it is illegal to reproduce, distribute, or publicly display any copyrighted work (or any substantial portion thereof) without the permission of the copyright owner. Exceptions can be made under fair use guidelines, but the patron, not the Library, is responsible for any violations. 

 

Off Campus Access

1. To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd19). 

 

2. For any electronic resources listed within the ONE SEARCH, you'll be prompted to enter your full SMC email address and password.  

 

3. Online (distance education) students may request Print books (owned by SMC) found in ONE SEARCH.  These books will be mailed to the student's address free of charge (return postage will be included). Please contact us for assistance.  

 

4. Online (distance education) students may also use PASCAL Delivers (learn more under Student Services).

 

If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:

Phone:  864-587-4208

Email:  smclibrary@smcsc.edu